Our Mission

Our mission is to improve the health of our communities by uniting healthcare resources.

When the Muscogee (Creek) Nation Department of Health decided to develop a mission and vision statement, we wanted input from our most valuable commodity – our staff.

Our Vision

Healthy Generations of Native People

We believe it speaks volumes about who we are and where we are headed – we value culture as a guiding principle – and we aspire to be recognized for that. It is a big vision, but it is also a very personal one. From front-line to physician, from management to medicine, each staff member can and must resolve to be most-trusted day-in and day-out in our given areas of responsibility.

Our Community 

We are fully committed to meeting our patients where they are and we realize we cannot fully care for our community by staying exclusively within the walls of our facilities. Uniting resources and improving the health of our communities requires partnership.

Muscogee (Creek) Nation Department of Health Leadership

Our outstanding Department of Health staff and superb medical providers are dedicated to providing excellent care to every one of our patients and their families. These health professionals are the heart of the Division of Health and the reason our facilities are so vital to the communities we serve. Department of Health professionals are led by a team of Chief Officers that believe “leadership matters” and our leadership is a key component to providing excellent patient care.


Our Guiding Values

The Muscogee (Creek) Nation Department of Health’s values can be identified by five simple but very powerful concepts.

Customer care is our business. Our reason for existence is the customer; our daily decisions are centered on them and our value is only as good as the care we can provide to them.

Culture is important. Cultural values make us who we are; our organization shall respect the cultural background of our customers.

Accessibility is crucial. Our health care facilities should be accessible to all customers; no customer should be refused health care or redirected elsewhere.

Partnership is necessary. In order to provide the best possible care to customers, coordination of care and partnerships between the health care team and customer are essential.

Staff is our most valuable asset.  To develop the best health care organization is to attract, advance and retain the best staff.

Secretary of Health Shawn Terry
Chief Performance Officer Shoneen Alexander-Ross
Chief Operating Officer Rhonda Beaver
Chief Medical Officer Dr. Billy Beets

The Muscogee (Creek) Nation Department of Health is one of the largest Tribal Health Systems in Oklahoma. The foundations of the current Muscogee (Creek) Nation Health System can be traced to the Snyder Act of 1921 and the Indian Health Care Improvement Act of 1976, which provide specific legislative authority for Congress to appropriate funds for the healthcare of Indian people. The basis for the development of the present system of health for the Muscogee (Creek) Nation began in 1975, with the passage of the Indian Self-Determination and Education and Assistance Act. This legislation gave Tribal governments the ability to contract and operate programs of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the Indian Health Service.

On November 4, 1977, the Muscogee (Creek) Nation signed a Sub-Lease agreement and an Operation and Maintenance agreement with the Trustees of the Okfuskee Memorial Hospital Authority and the Okfuskee County Commissioners to occupy and operate the former Okfuskee County Hospital in Okemah on a thirty-year lease purchase. That facility is now the Creek Nation Community Hospital in Okemah, Oklahoma.

From 1976 through 1988, the Health System was operated under the broad guidance of the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes, which included the Muscogee (Creek) Nation. In 1988, the Muscogee (Creek) Nation National Council approved the Hospital and Clinic Board Act of 1988, which established a Board to provide for the functional management of the Health System. In 1992, legislation was passed that created the Division of Health Administration, moving the functional management of the Health System directly under the Executive Branch of the Nation. The Division was managed by a Director appointed by the Principal Chief with the consent of the National Council. This was changed in 1994 with the passage of the Hospital and Clinics Act of 1994, which established the Health System as an independent agency of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation separate from the Executive Branch and under the direct oversight and management of a Health System Board. The Division Director was to be recommended by the Board and approved by the National Council and Principal Chief.

Prior to 2002, the Muscogee (Creek) Nation had contracted with Indian Health Service to provide healthcare services to its citizens. In 2002, the Muscogee (Creek) Nation entered into an Indian Self-Determination compact with the Indian Health Service to provide for the healthcare needs of its people. This method of agreement allowed the Muscogee (Creek) Nation much greater flexibility in the provision of services for the tribal population.

The Health System remained under the control of the Health System Board until February 2009. At that time, the National Council passed legislation thereby eliminating the Health Board, changing the status of the Health System from an independent agency, and returning it to the direct supervision of the Executive Branch, with the Secretary of Health appointed by the Principal Chief and confirmed by the National Council.